Misha Cvijović

Misha Cvijović


for saxophone, trombone, percussion, piano, accordion & electric guitar (2019) 10′

Thursday 7 July, 2022
See day program >


for Minimoog and Tape (2021, WP) 10′

Friday 8 July, 2022
See day program >

In »Penumbra« (the shaded region surrounding the dark central portion of a sunspot), I explore the enormous possibilities of a specific and unconventional contemporary chamber ensemble that often sounds more like a band. A patchwork of different fragments and contrasts, fast changes of form and tempo, groovy rhythms and polyrhythmic structures followed by extremely fast and virtuoso passages challenge the musicians not only as ensemble performers but also as soloists. By using electric guitar effects, I have expanded the ensemble’s sound palette with the possibilities of the electric guitar, from the distorted to the surreal. With musical gestures and their transformation via effects and unpredictable orchestrations, sounds and grooves come together here into a synthesis of different genres in a single sonic world.

»Iktsuarpok« was composed during the Lockdowns, a time of unpredictability, fluctuation and cacophony. »Iktsuarpok« stands for the frustrating wait for visitors. Or for someone to save our world. «Iktsuarpok« continues my artistic work in the field of electroacoustic music and analogue synthesizers and is composed and produced as a Minimoog quartet (3 Moogs as tape and Minimoog solo live). All four Minimoogs develop counterpoint of microtonal melodic lines, extremely dense movements that simulate ›screaming‹ sirens with their hard-shelled sound, culminating in an explosion/detonating cluster to awaken ›eyes wide shut‹ of the world.

Misha Cvijović (b. in Serbia) is a composer and pianist. She was a composition student of Eun-Hwa Cho at the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin and composes orchestral and chamber music, electroacoustic music, works for opera and music theater, as well as theater and film music. Misha Cvijović’s compositions have been performed throughout the world, including at SONIC MATTER Zürich, MaerzMusik and the Cannes Film Festival by many contemporary music ensembles and orchestras, such as Zone Experimentale Basel, Zafraan Ensemble and Orchestra Radio Television Serbia. Misha Cvijović was awarded a fellowship from the Berlin Senate Department for Culture and Europe 2021 and from the Musikfonds 2021 for her trio Splitsignals Berlin. She lives in Berlin.

< See all artists